2016 Nobel Peace Prize Nomination
Mail: info@reimanlok.org
Site Search

Tony de Brum, 2016 Nobel Nominee

In January 2016, the International Peace Bureau (IPB) nominated Tony de Brum and his team of lawyers for the 2016 Nobel Peace Prize.

IPB Secretary General Colin Archer said that his organization was impressed by the courage shown by Tony de Brum and his team of lawyers for the landmark cases filed at the International Court of Justie. The cases were filed against nine countries that breached their obligations on nuclear disarmament under international law.

On April 24, 2014, the Republic of the Marshall Islands (represented by Foreign Minister Tony de Brum) filed applications in the International Court of Justice (ICJ) to hold the nine nuclear-armed states accountable for violations of international law with respect to their nuclear disarmament obligations under the 1968 Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty (NPT) and customary international law. The nine states possessing nuclear arsenals are the United States, United Kingdom, France, Russia, China, India, Pakistan, North Korea, and Israel.

The winners of the 2016 Nobel Peace Prize will be announced in October 2016. This is the first time that a Pacific Islander is nominated for this prestigious award.

The Nobel Peace Prize has been awarded to 103 individuals and 26 organizations since 1901.

Tony de Brum served as Foreign Minister during the administration of President Christopher Loeak. In May 2016, the Nitijela approved de Brum's nomination as Marshall Islands Ambassador of Climate Change.

Ambassador de Brum grew up in Likiep during the time when the United States conducted 67 atomic and thermonuclear weapons testing in the Marshall Islands. In the region, Marshall Islands has the highest cancer rates.

In May 2016, Ambassador de Brum delivered his inspirational message to the students of Majuro Cooperative International School.

Published on 13 May 2016.

Tony de Brum